top of page


2019 Eugene D. O’Kelly Award Recipient


Gary K. Schwartz, MD

Gary SCHWARTZ 2018.jpg

Gary K. Schwartz, MD is Professor of Medicine and current Chief of the Division of Hematology and Oncology and Deputy Director of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University School of Medicine.  He is a recognized leader in the field of translational research and has been able to bridge the clinical and basic science elements of drug development.  Previously he was an Attending Physician and Member at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and Chief of the Melanoma Sarcoma Oncology Service. 


He was awarded the Team Science Award by the Melanoma Research Alliance to lead a national effort in developing new therapies for patients with ocular melanoma.  His contributions to teaching and mentoring have been recognized with many awards including the annual Teaching Award and the Excellence in Mentoring Award.  In 2000 and 2006 respectively, he received NCI K24 and K12 Clinical Oncology Research Career Development Awards aimed at the mentoring of medical trainees in translational research.  He has mentored several leading junior faculties on NCI Career Development Awards. 


Dr. Schwartz has served on numerous committees for the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the American Association of Cancer Research and for the NCI. He is co-Chair of the Experimental Therapeutic Committee of the Alliance, an Executive Committee Member of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology and serves on the Board of Directors for the Alliance.   He also serves as Vice Chair of ASCO’s Targeted Agent and Profiling Utilization Registry (TAPUR) Study Molecular Tumor Board.   In addition, he has authored or co-authored over 200 manuscripts in the field of both basic and clinical cancer research.

2019 Financial Services Cares Gala Distinguished Service Award Recipient


Mutual of America

Mutual of America.jpg

Mutual of America is honored to accept the 2019 Financial Services Cares Gala Distinguished Service Award. For more than 25 years, we have been a flagship sponsor of the American Cancer Society® Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk® in New York City, helping to raise more than $3 million. We’re also a top corporate fundraiser for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society’s Walk MS® and the top overall fundraiser in 2018 for the Concern Spring Run, a run/walk fundraiser for Concern Worldwide. Additionally, Mutual of America supports organizations that are working to improve the quality of life in communities across our country through our Community Partnership Award, which for the past 23 years has annually honored 10 nonprofit organizations that are addressing some of society’s most challenging problems.

Eugene D. O’Kelly Award Past Recipients


These prominent, philanthropic leaders are honored for their dedication and commitment to philanthropy and/or work in the cancer sector.


2018 - Michael A. Weiner MD, Vagelos College of Physicians Surgeons, Columbia University 

2017 – Shalom Kalnicki, MD, FASTRO, FACRO

2016 – Charles S. Fuchs, MD, MPH & Adam Bass, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute 

2015 – Deborah Wright, Chairman of the Board, Carver’s Federal Savings Bank

2014 – Dick Vitale, Sports Analyst, ESPN

2013 – Dr. Andrew L. Kung, Director of Pediatric Hematology, Columbia University Medical Center/NY Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital

2012 – John Thiel, Head of US Wealth and Private Banking and Investment Group, Merrill Lynch

2011 – Robert S. Kapito, President and Director of BlackRock

2010 – Gregory B. Braca, President–Metro New York, TD Bank

2009 – Harold McGraw III, Chairman, President & CEO, The McGraw–Hill Companies

2008 – Gregory Fleming, President & COO, Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc.

2007 – John G. Duffy, Chairman & CEO, Keefe, Bruyette & Woods

2006 – Timothy Flynn, Chairman & CEO, KPMG LLP


Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients

These companies are honored for their commitment to volunteerism, community outreach and work through philanthropy.

2018 – Mastercard 

2017 – Nationwide

2016 – John Hancock  

2015 – American Century Investments & The Stowers Institute for Medical Research

2013 – PIMCO

2012 – BlackRock, Inc.

bottom of page